By Razvan Toma · Founder & CEO, Ampervia · Last checked 2026-10-13 · Sources linked below
EDF closed its Montereau coal plant in 2004. In 2025 it offered the site to data center developers with a fast-track grid connection, and in November 2025 entered exclusive negotiations with OpCore (iliad and InfraVia) for a data center campus of several hundred MW, an investment of about €4 billion, with first commissioning targeted for 2027. Sources (3)EDFEDF — EDF and OpCore to develop a high-power data center at Montereau (17 Nov 2025)↗ReutersReuters — EDF, OpCore to develop €4bn data centre in France↗EDFEDF — calls for expressions of interest for data centers on EDF land (Mar 2025)↗
Timeline
| When | What happened |
|---|---|
| 2004 | Coal-fired plant shut down. |
| Mar 2025 | EDF launches calls for expressions of interest for data centers on its former plant sites. |
| 17 Nov 2025 | Exclusive negotiations with OpCore; ~€4bn, several hundred MW. |
| 2027 | First commissioning targeted. |
What changed between entry and exit
- The landowner prepared the site and the grid route itself, then ran a competitive process.
- The developer brings capital and operations.
Capital and counterparties
EDF provides land and grid preparation (typically via construction lease); OpCore (iliad and InfraVia funds) invests about €4bn.
Economics: confirmed and not disclosed
| Item | Figure | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Land terms | Not disclosed | EDF offers land under construction leases |
| Developer investment | ≈€4 billion | Build cost, not land value |
Risks and limitations
- Negotiations, not a completed deal.
- Scale is far above club-sized projects.
Relevance to Ampervia
Power-plant sites are the grid-rich end of the brownfield market. The playbook (prepare power, then auction to developers) is the same at any size.
Sources
- EDF — EDF and OpCore to develop a high-power data center at Montereau (17 Nov 2025)
- Reuters — EDF, OpCore to develop €4bn data centre in France
- EDF — calls for expressions of interest for data centers on EDF land (Mar 2025)
Last checked 2026-10-13. Third-party precedent, not an Ampervia project.